DWTS Crowned a New Ballroom Champ

The Bachelorette alum Hannah Brown and Alan Bersten were crowned the winners of Season 28 of Dancing with the Stars last night. They beat out fellow finalists Lauren Alaina, Ally Brooke and Kel Mitchell – and their professional partners – for the coveted mirror ball trophy. The four remaining contestants each performed in two rounds of competition for judges Carrie Ann Inaba, Len Goodman and Bruno Tonioli. In the first round the contestants repeated their favorite dance from earlier in the season: Alaina danced the foxtrot again, Brooke revisited her jive, Brown re-did the Viennese waltz and Mitchell performed another jazz routine. The second round was the freestyle routines. With just minutes left, co-hosts Tom Bergeron and Erin Andrews announced that Alaina had taken fourth place and Brooke had secured the third position. Following a few moments of anticipation, Brown was named the winner, with Mitchell earning the runner-up spot. The night also featured musical performances from Cher, Pitbull and Ne-Yo. DWTS also announced during the finale that all four finalists, along with Kate Flannery and Sailor Brinkley-Cook, will join the upcoming Dancing with the Stars – Live Tour 2020. The 2020 tour kicks off right after the holidays, with its first show on January 9, 2020, in Richmond, Virginia. After Richmond, the cast travels to Atlantic City, New Jersey, for a show on January 10 at the Borgata. The show runs through early Spring 2020, ending on April 7th in Portland, Oregon. It was also announced that Layla Spring is going to compete on American Idol for the second time. The 18-year-old singer previously made it to the Top 24 on the first season of the show’s reboot on ABC. For the upcoming third season on ABC, three previous contestants were given a shot at returning to Hollywood. Their special second chance performances were aired during the American Music Awards and then fans voted for their favorites. The other two contestants competing for votes were Logan Johnson and Shawn Richardson.