Dolly Parton, Pat Benatar, Duran Duran, and More to Be Inducted Into Rock & Roll Hall of Fame

The 2022 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame inductees were announced on Wednesday morning. Dolly Parton, Pat Benatar, Duran Duran, Eminem, Eurythmics, Lionel Richie and Carly Simon will all be inducted into the Hall of Fame this year.

Judas Priest and Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis will receive the Musical Excellence Award, Harry Belafonte and Elizabeth Cotten will be honored with the Early Influence Award and Allen Grubman, Jimmy Iovine and Sylvia Robinson will receive the Ahmet Ertegun Award.

To be considered for induction, artists must have released their first record 25 years before induction.

Parton initially declined the invitation, believing she did not meet the requirements.

“Even though I am extremely flattered and grateful to be nominated for the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, I don’t feel that I have earned that right,” she shared in an Instagram post. “I really do not want votes to be split because of me, so I must respectfully bow out.”

After the Hall of Fame said that it was too late to bow out, Dolly told NPR that if she was voted in she would “accept gracefully. I’ll just say ‘Thanks’ and I will accept it because the fans vote.”

“It was always my belief that the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame was for people in rock music,” she said. “I have found out lately it’s not necessarily that. But if they can’t go there to be recognized, where can they go? And so I felt like I was taking away from someone that maybe deserved it certainly more than me since I never considered myself a rock artist. But obviously, there’s more to it than that.”

The induction ceremony will be held on November 5th, 2022 at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles.

Congrats to all the inductees.

Editorial credit: Kathy Hutchins